Thanksgiving and The Book of Awesome Go Together!

bookofawesome3dThanksgiving is traditionally a time for giving thanks for what we are grateful for like family and good friendships. A favourite book of mine, The Book of Awesome by Neil Pasricha, highlights appreciation for life’s simplest things such as driving through the city and hitting several green lights in a row or picking the perfect nacho off of a plate.

After reading the book my sons and I started to talk about what our own Book of Awesome entries would 288x162-momreadstosonsbe. Our newest entry was when we were at Walmart and no one parked in front of us so I was able to leave my parking spot by moving forward rather than having to reverse (not my strength…smile). While I was thinking about Thanksgiving I was compelled to reflect on what school entries I would put into my Book of Awesome. Here are a some from the last few days:

Awesome is when…

 

  • A gr. 1 student exclaims, “This is the best day ever!” after stepping onto our new playground equipment
  • Hundreds of food donations are made to our Drive Away Hunger Campaign, including a case of baby formula
  • I offered a teddy bear to console a sad child and he told me he wanted me to keep him in my room in case I might need him
  • Two students hear of a missing cell phone and dedicate their recess to help find it
  • An FDK student shares a story with me that he wrote about himself and the things he does with his big brother
  • A student who has been in my office for some challenges presents me with a Thanksgiving picture for my wall
  • Members of our greater community donate huge amounts of time and materials to help construct our new play structure
  • Mrs. Somers made me apple crisp with apples fresh from her farm…yum!!

This is just a small snapshot of the events that I am grateful for on a day to day basis at school.

What entries would be in your Book of Awesome? Maybe consider starting one with your family!

To check out the website of the author, Neil Pasricha click here! You can even add some of your own “Awesome” ideas to his blog. If you visit his site, click on any one of the 1000 ideas and read more about each one. If you add your own, great, but post below and tell me what you wrote. I’d love to read it.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *