New Year’s Challenge

new_years

I believe that it is natural to begin each day hoping for the best. For example, I do not believe that any student goes into school each morning hoping for day of mediocrity.  No teacher starts school planning to give half an effort into impacting student learning.  As a mom, I want each day with my husband and two children to be happy and memorable.   The truth is, I believe we all want to put our best foot forward, each and every day.  Yet we all know that not every day necessarily turns out the way that we hope. What gets in our way?

 

New Year’s is a time for reflections and resolutions.  Each New Year’s Eve my family and I traditionally share our resolutions over a late dinner.  As we go around the table, most of our resolutions are around weight loss and exercise.  Interestingly, my children often have given very little thought about wanting to make any changes at all.  The reality is the resolutions we make (or lack thereof) do not usually have the impact we hoped for or the results are minimal at best. Why is this? This reaffirms my beliefs that changing behaviours, attitudes and practices are incredibly difficult.

 

Difficult or not, I do believe change is possible, incredibly complex, but possible.  I will not suggesting that there is a magical formula that will lead us to permanent transformation. In fact, I do not believe it is a formula at all.  Change is a result of inspiration and commitment. It is a willingness to be adventurous and to take risks in trying something new. What is your inspiration?   What is the one thing you can reasonably commit to that will impact your life for the better?   I challenge you to think about what you are willing to do that will actually transform your 2014 to be the best year it can be; something that you are willing to be adventurous about, a risk you are willing to take…

 

One thought on “New Year’s Challenge

  1. What a great post, Lisa! I completely agree that you need to be inspired to make a change and once you make the decision to change, you must be committed to it. For me, on a professional note, I was very inspired when I had a chance to hear Steven Katz in person. I’ve had the opportunity to listen to him three times now and I continue to learn more about how we can have an impact on learning within Thames Valley. My current role is allowing me the privilege of concentrating on educator learning. It is such an exciting time.
    Thanks for the post. I hope that you continue to share your thoughts and ideas and challenge your readers to articulate theirs.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *